THE VEGETABLE CRISIS

For the past couple of weeks, I have been going on my news app and watching the news. There have been many different stories going around like:

£50m of cocaine found on Norfolk beaches

WordPress blogs defaced in hack attacks

Restaurant apologises after rejecting waitress with emoji

And much more.
But there was one story that caught my eye. It has been affecting many people around Europe at this moment. I’ll give you a clue: it is what a lot of children dread of eating on their plates.

THE VEGETABLE CRISIS!

There has been a HUGE veggie crisis that has hit Europe. Yeah ok maybe it isn’t that huge anymore, but it was massive when I was thinking of writing this post. Now you realise that I actually put some thought and plan my posts in advance…except some posts which aren’t that, well, good.

Anyway, back to the point of this blog post: the veggie crisis. If you haven’t come across it yet, you’re either living in an area which can easily provide itself with vegetables or you’re living under a rock…a big one too! This crisis has been affecting so many people in Europe, my family included. The main reason to this is because of the poor weather in Spain. Muchas Gracias.

Bad weather? In Spain! I know I know, took me a while to register it too. But that is seriously what had happened. To make things easier to understand, Europe gets a lot of their ‘Iceberg Lettuce’ from a small city in the South of Spain, around 80% goes to the EU which is a lot. Because 80% goes out to the European countries, it means that if there is suddenly a problem, let’s say really bad flooding (aka bad weather) it means that it is a big goodbye to the productions. Not all of their production had gone however, there was still 30% that was still being exported. But because it was only 30%, it had to be rationed in big supermarkets.

Queue my mum saying this from her return home from the supermarket: (grumbling might I add) “Wouldn’t let me buy two bags of lettuce because of the stupid rationing”.

Now many people may be thinking ‘Hey Elettra, you and your mum must be slightly exaggerating here now.’ Well, I wish I could tell you that it was the case, but unfortunately, that isn’t the case. The reason is because it is not only Lettuce (it is a veggie crisis after all) there are many types of vegetables affected like broccoli.

My mum and I, we’re very big on vegetables. Basically, we love them and can’t go a meal without them…except maybe breakfast. They’re lovely, and this crisis has enabled us to realise how lucky we are to be able to live in a country where we are able to afford and get some lovely veggies, even though there are many that we dislike.

What are your opinions on the crisis? Is there anything else that I have missed out?

See you next time my veggie lovers!

Elettra

 

Leave a Reply

