09/03/17: Which countries have I visited?

In today’s post, I will be talking about the different coutnries that I have visited since I was a child. I have been lucky to go to all the places that I have been because I have family who live there. Without them living there I don’t think that I would have been able to go there.

  • England

The reason why this is first on my list is because I live in England…little bit of me revealed there :). I would say that England is a grand place to live, when the weather isn’t too bad. I don’t really have anything else to say about England…let me search up some stereotypes to talk about:

English Stereotypes

Those are many stereotypes that come into my mind when I think of an Englishman or Englishwoman. Here are some of my thoughts on these:

  • ‘English people drink tea all day’

I can fully relate to this stereotype because I am a big tea drinker as well as coffee drinker, mainly because I don’t sleep very much so I need caffeine to keep me going through the day. Some statistics that I found online however prove that tea is the second most popular drink in the world after water meaning that the British people aren’t alone with this wonderous drink!

  • ‘English people love to queue’

When I thought about this, I said to myself ‘but I hate queuing!’ but then I realised that I if I had to queue for something, even though I ‘hate’ it, I would do it, proving that I am tolerant to this. For example, when there are queues for theme parks, I will queue without moaning. Queues for the toliet and to pay too.

  • ‘British people love to celebrate Royal occasions’

This I can say that it is definitely true as Royal Weddings and Jubliees are special ocasions which millions of Britons love to celebrate by organising street parties, waving the British flag, getting dressed up and so on. I know that in England and the other British countries, we are very proud of our monarchy, even though some people may not like it.

  • ‘It rains everyday in England’

This I can say from experience that it does not rain everyday in England, nor the UK. Yes, it is wetter than other countries since it does rain a lot during the year, but we get a bit of sun sometimes!

Climate graph for London

Here is a graph to show rainfall VS temperature 

  • ‘Everyone in England speaks like the Queen’

However hard you try to believe this, it isn’t true. Not. At. All. Yes some people talk a bit like the Queen, however the majority have different accents depending on where they come from. Below is a video just to prove to you what I mean:

  • Wales

I visit Wales quite often because my grandparents live in the south. I love it there, not only because I get to visit my grandparents, but because I have made friends for life down there. Each time I go there, at least one full day is spent with them because they’re just amazing. And no, it does not rain all the time!

  • France

I also visit France quite a lot because my grandparents live there an hour away from Switzerland. It is in the depths of the country side, and is absolutely beautiful. I love going there because, one I love speaking French and two I love my family.

  • Spain

In total, I have been to Spain about 5 times in my life. Three times before the age of ten, and twice in the past three years. The last two visits were to visit my pen pals and my aunt who lives there. I am so lucky because I do not think that I would love speaking Spanish so much if I didn’t have any connections to encourage me to continue.

  • Austria

Finally I have been to Austria once to go on a ski trip with my school. It was a fantastic experience, other than the instructor took us down a black run on the final day of the trip which freaked me out completely. The scenery took my breath away, and one evening we went on a night walk and you could see ALL the stars and so many different constellations. It was just wow -> I don’t know what to say because I am still speechless!

So there you have it! All the countries I have been too. I am going to repeat this, but I feel very fortunate to have been able to visit these countries at such an early stage of my life.

New post tomorrow!

Elettra

Leave a Reply

