Poem: Survive

I was looking through my reader today and saw the Daily Prompt. Today’s prompt was ‘Survive‘ and when I saw it I decided this was the day I do one of these.

Wish me luck.

Survive

They told me that the grass would be greener

They told me that the air would be cleaner

They told me that the birds would be singing

They told me that people would be smiling

They told me that there would be happiness

They told me that there would be no more uneasiness

They told me that life would be better on the other side

They told me that everyone would be allied

They told me that this world would be a better place

They told me that these harsh memories would soon erase

They told me that these loud sounds would go away

They told me that those people would pay

They told me that I’d see my family again

They told me that I should comprehend

They told me that I wasn’t alone

They told me that I shouldn’t feel unkown

They told me to run fast, fast, faster

They told me to run from this disaster

But here I am, alone again

But here I am, just ten

But here I am, waiting

But here I am, searching

But here I am, looking for the green grass

But here I am, seeing the contrasts

But here I am, seeing the same

But here I am, feeling the flame

But here I am, hearing the bombs

But here I am, seeing the scars

The same people

Who are so evil

Different places

The same faces

When can I be free?

When can I have a safety guarantee?

Must I strive to be alive

to then survive?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Poem: Survive

Leave a Reply

